Toggle menu

Boundary Commission for Scotland proposals

The Boundary Commission for Scotland recently published its initial proposals for a new map of UK Parliamentary constituencies in Scotland. 

Scotland has been allocated 57 constituencies for the 2023 Review, two fewer than at present. The UK Parliament has retained 650 constituencies. England has been allocated 543 (+10), Northern Ireland 18 (no change) and Wales 32 (-8).

Two of these 57 (Na h-Eileanan an Iar (the Western Isles) and Orkney and Shetland) are protected in the legislation and will not be subject to change.

Each constituency that the Commission recommends must contain no fewer than 69,724 Parliamentary electors, and no more than 77,062 (except the constituencies of Na h-Eileanan an Iar and Orkney and Shetland).

Based on the March 2020 electoral register 18 existing constituencies lie within the electoral quota. These are shown below:

Existing constituencies
AreaElectoral quotaAreaElectoral quota
Central Ayrshire69,779Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath73,288
Glasgow South69,956Edinburgh South West73,315
Stirling70,085Perth and North Perthshire73,523
Midlothian71,210North Ayrshire and Arran73,588
Moray71,537West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine73,634
Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock72,057Coatbridge, Chryston and Bellshill73,996
Paisley and Renfrewshire North72,576Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk74,687
East Renfrewshire72,959Kilmarnock and Loudoun74,801
Edinburgh West73,102Dumfries and Galloway75,332

East Ayrshire, North Ayrshire and South Ayrshire council areas - the four existing Ayrshire constituencies (Central Ayrshire, North Ayrshire and Arran, Ayr, Carrick & Cumnock and Kilmarnock and Loudoun) are unchanged.

The Boundary Commission welcome all comments on their proposals on their consultation site at The public consultation on the proposals closes on Wednesday 8 December 2021.