The UK parliamentary election result

Two members of parliament were elected on 8 June. Here are the results.

MPs are elected on a ‘first past the post’ basis – this means the candidate with the most votes wins.

All votes cast in the Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock and Central Ayrshire constituencies will be counted at the Citadel Leisure Centre in Ayr from 10pm on Thursday 8 June 2017.

Once counted, Eileen Howat, Returning Officer for both constituencies, will announce how many votes were cast for each candidate and will declare who is elected to serve as MP for each of the two constituencies.

We expect this to take place in the early hours of Friday 9 June 2017.