South Ayrshire Council Election 2017 results

 05 May 2017  |  

South Ayrshire's newly elected Councillors

South Ayrshire's newly elected Councillors

28 councillors have now been elected to serve the people of South Ayrshire following the 2017 Scottish Council Election.

  • Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party returned 12 Elected Members
  • Scottish National Party returned 9 Elected Members
  • Scottish Labour Party returned 5 Elected Members
  • 2 Independent Elected Members were also returned

The Elected Members returned for each ward are detailed below:

WARD 1 – Troon

  • Peter Convery (Scottish Conservative and Unionist)
  • Bob Pollock (Scottish Conservative and Unionist)
  • Craig MacKay (Scottish National Party)
  • Philip Saxton (Scottish Labour Party)

Turnout: 57.2%

WARD 2 - Prestwick

  • Ian Cochrane (Scottish National Party)
  • Hugh Hunter (Scottish Conservative and Unionist)
  • Margaret Toner (Scottish Conservative and Unionist)
  • Helen Moonie (Scottish Labour Party)

Turnout: 55.1%

WARD 3 – Ayr North

  • Laura Brennan-Whitefield (Scottish National Party)
  • Ian Davis (Scottish Conservative and Unionist)
  • Ian Cavana (Scottish Labour Party)
  • Douglas Campbell (Scottish National Party)

Turnout: 39.6%

WARD 4 - Ayr East

  • Mary Kilpatrick (Scottish Conservative and Unionist)
  • Brian McGinley (Scottish Labour Party)
  • Chris Cullen (Scottish National Party)

Turnout: 51.5%

WARD 5 - Ayr West

  • Martin Dowey (Scottish Conservative and Unionist)
  • Siobhian Brown (Scottish National Party)
  • Lee Lyons (Scottish Conservative and Unionist)
  • Derek McCabe (Scottish Conservative and Unionist)

Turnout: 59.4%

WARD 6 - Kyle

  • Andy Campbell (Scottish Labour Party)
  • Arthur Spurling (Scottish Conservative and Unionist)
  • Julie Dettbarn (Scottish National Party)

Turnout: 48.7%

WARD 7 – Maybole, North Carrick & Coylton

  • Iain Campbell (Scottish Conservative and Unionist)
  • William Grant (Scottish National Party)
  • Brian Connolly (Independent)

Turnout: 48.1%

WARD 8 - Girvan and South Carrick

  • Alec Clark (Independent)
  • Ian Fitzsimmons (Scottish Conservative and Unionist)
  • Peter Henderson (Scottish National Party)

Turnout: 52.3%

A full breakdown of the results will be available on the South Ayrshire Council website by the close of play on Friday 5 May.