Forehill Primary scoops a national top prize for headteacher of the year

 12 June 2017  |  

All smiles - Headteacher of the year, David Watson

All smiles - Headteacher of the year, David Watson

Headteacher at Forehill Primary School, David Watson, has scooped the prestigious Headteacher of the Year award at this year's Scottish Education Awards.

Judges were impressed by the enthusiasm and commitment David has shown since being appointed headteacher at Forehill Primary School. He is described as having been instrumental in overhauling the school and creating an inspiring and encouraging environment for pupils and staff alike. He is dedicated to providing each student with a rich and inclusive educational experience, and the whole school community has reaped the benefits of David's leadership.

Tarbolton Primary School were also shortlisted in the final three for their 'Health and Wellbeing' award, which is another notable success achieved at a time of major change for everyone at the school.

Representatives from the South Ayrshire school attended the glittering award ceremony in Glasgow on Wednesday (07 June 2017) to collect the coveted award.

Douglas Hutchison, South Ayrshire Council's Director of Educational Services said: "These awards are a big deal for schools across the country and to have not one, but two nominations reach the final, is a major achievement.

"I'd like to congratulate David Watson for his tireless work at Forehill to create an environment where children find learning fun, challenging, creative and engaging. His award is well deserved and I'm sure that everyone at the school will be proud of this very well-earned recognition.

"Tarbolton Primary also put in a strong showing this year, with their entry making the final three of the Health and Well Being award, something they should rightly be proud of."

The Scottish Education Awards recognise and reward the people who dedicate their lives to children and young people and showcase the valuable work and innovation happening in classrooms across the country. 

For more information on the winners, visit here.