Find your voice - become a Community Councillor

 06 February 2017  |  

Members of a Community Council are elected for three years and a By – Election takes place in year two and three to fill any vacancies.

Community Council By- Elections are taking place across South Ayrshire — this is your chance to influence decision makers locally and at a national level.

Community Councils are voluntary and set up and run by residents to represent their local area. Working with decision makers such politicians, Community Councils are well placed to change their communities for the better.

The following Community Councils have vacancies, so if you are 18 or over and are resident in one of the Community Council areas with a vacancy, you can become a candidate.

Community Councils

Alloway and Doonfoot (3 vacancies Alloway) (3 vacancies Doonfoot)

Annbank and Coylton (5 vacancies)

Ballantrae (3 vacancies)

Belmont, Kincaidston and St Leonards (2 vacancies Kincaidston)

(3 vacancies Belmont North) (4  vacancies Belmont South) (3 vacancies St Leonards)

Colmonell and Lendalfoot (4 vacancies)

Craigie (3 vacancies)

Crosshill, Straiton and Kirkmichael (1 vacancy)

Dailly (3 vacancies)

Dundonald (2 vacancies)

Dunure  (4 vacancies)

Forehill, Holmston and Masonhill  (3 vacancies Castlehill / Masonhill / New Holmston)

(2 vacancies Holmston and Forehill)

Fort, Seafield and Wallacetown  (1 vacancy Seafield) (4  vacancies Wallacetown)

Girvan and District (2 vacancies)

Kirkoswald, Maidens and Turnberry (3 vacancies)

Loans (4 vacancies)

Maybole (4 vacancies)

Minishant (1 vacancy)

Mossblown and St Quivox (2 vacancies)

Newton and Heathfield (4 vacancies)

North Ayr (1 vacancy Whitletts and Lochside)

(4 vacancies Dalmilling) (2 vacancies Craigie)

Pinwherry and Pinmore (2 vacancies)

Prestwick North (6 vacancies)

Prestwick South (2 vacancies Prestwick South West) (2 vacancies  Prestwick South East)

Symington (3 vacancies)

Troon (2 vacancies)

Councillor Bill McIntosh, Leader South Ayrshire Council said: "If you are passionate about where you live, this is a golden opportunity to help change your community for the better. Together with like-minded people you can make your voice heard on important topics such as transportation, education and housing. Get involved, become a Community Councillor and help make a difference."

Nomination forms and more information can be found by clicking on 'elections' at: you can also check which Community Council covers where you stay.

Completed nomination forms should be returned to:

Returning Officer, Community Council Elections, South Ayrshire Council, County Buildings, Wellington Square, AYR KA7 1DR

Nomination forms must be returned by Midnight on Thursday 23 February 2017.

Ballot papers would be issued in March 2017 to residents in any Community Council area which receives more nominations than there are vacancies.

For more information, please contact Karen Monaghan on 01292-612042 or Marie Welsh 01292-612622