45 candidates to contest South Ayrshire Council election

 29 March 2017  |  

The election takes place on 4 May

The election takes place on 4 May

A total of 45 candidates will contest the South Ayrshire Council election on Thursday 4 May 2017. 

28 Councillors will be elected on 4 May to serve the people of South Ayrshire across eight Council wards – Troon; Prestwick; Ayr North; Ayr East; Ayr West; Kyle; Maybole, North Carrick & Coylton; and Girvan & South Carrick.

Each ward is served by three or four Councillors, depending on population size.

Following alterations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland for this year's local government elections, three Councillors – rather than four – will be elected to serve Wards 4 (Ayr East) and 7 (Maybole, North Carrick & Coylton).

The candidates are:

Ward 1: Troon (Four Councillors)

  • Peter John Convery, Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Craig MacKay, Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Annie McIndoe, Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Boyd Murdoch, Scottish Green Party
  • Bob Pollock, Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Philip Saxton, Scottish Labour Party

Ward 2: Prestwick (Four Councillors)

  • Ian Cochrane, Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Hugh Hunter, Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Alasdair John Malcolm, Independent
  • Helen Moonie, Scottish Labour Party
  • Margaret Toner, Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • John Wallace, Scottish National Party (SNP)

Ward 3: Ayr North (Four Councillors)

  • Laura Brennan-Whitefield, Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Douglas Campbell, Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Ian Cavana, Scottish Labour Party
  • Ian Davis, Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Brenda Knox, Scottish Labour Party
  • Jamie McGeechan, Independent

Ward 4: Ayr East (Three Councillors)

  • Andrew Bryden, Independent
  • Chris Cullen, Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Mary Kilpatrick, Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Brian McGinley, Scottish Labour Party
  • Ian McPherson, Scottish National Party (SNP)

Ward 5: Ayr West (Four Councillors)

  • Chic Brodie, Independent
  • Siobhian Brown, Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Allan Dorans, Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Martin Dowey, Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Lee Lyons, Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Liz Martin, Scottish Labour Party
  • Derek McCabe, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Ward 6: Kyle (Three Councillors)

  • Andy Campbell, Scottish Labour Party
  • Julie Dettbarn, Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Scott McFarlane, Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Arthur Spurling, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Ward 7: Maybole, North Carrick & Coylton (Three Councillors)

  • Iain Campbell, Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Brian Connolly, Independent
  • Catriona Deliveli, Scottish Labour Party
  • William Grant, Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Gordon McFadzean, Independent

Ward 8: Girvan & South Carrick (Three Councillors)

  • Alec Clark, Independent
  • Karen Clark-McCartney, Independent
  • Ian Fitzsimmons, Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Peter Henderson, Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Owen Martin, Scottish Labour Party
  • Gavin Scott, Independent

Further information on the candidates and the Council election – including details of how to register to vote – can be found at www.south-ayrshire.gov.uk/council-election.

There are set deadlines for registering to vote if you want to take part in the Council election on 4 May 2017:

  • Deadline for registering to vote: Monday 17 April 2017
  • Deadline for new applications to vote by post: 5pm on Tuesday 18 April 2017
  • Deadline for new applications to vote by proxy: 5pm on Tuesday 25 April 2017

You can register online now at www.gov.uk/register-to-vote. Please have a note of your National Insurance number available so you can complete the process quickly.

If you have any registration or postal voting enquiries, contact the Electoral Registration Office on 01292 612221.