Standing for election

If you’re interested in standing as a candidate in the European Parliament election on Thursday 23 May 2019, you must be:

  • at least 18 years old on the day of your nomination
  • a British or Irish citizen; an eligible Commonwealth citizen; or a citizen of any other member state of the European Union resident in the UK or Gibraltar

Nomination packs are now available from City Chambers, High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1YJ and can be collected/delivered between 10am and 4pm each working day from 10am on Tuesday 16 April 2019. The deadline to lodge nominations is 4pm on Thursday 25 April 2019.

Find out more about standing in the European Parliament elections here.