Counting the votes

All votes cast in South Ayrshire in the European Parliament elections will be counted at the Citadel Leisure Centre in Ayr on Sunday 26 May.

After all the votes have been counted, Eileen Howat, Local Returning Officer for the South Ayrshire Council area, will inform the Regional Returning Officer, Kenneth Lawrie, of the South Ayrshire result.

Following authorisation from the Regional Returning Officer, Eileen Howat will then announce the South Ayrshire result.

Once all 32 local authorities have informed the Regional Returning Officer of the local results, Kenneth Lawrie will announce the totals for the Scotland electoral region at the Scottish regional count centre and announce which MEPs have been elected.