European Parliament

Following confirmation from the Regional Returning Officer for the electoral region of Scotland, the UK will be taking part in the European Parliament elections on Thursday 23 May 2019.

The European Parliament represents people living in the 28 member countries of the European Union (EU). It has powers in a range of areas that affect member countries such as animal rights, consumer rights, the environment, international trade, regional economic development, and workers' rights.

The UK is represented by 73 Members of the European Parliament (MEPs). For the purposes of the European Parliament election, the whole of Scotland is classed as one electoral region and we are represented by six MEPs.

Five MEPS currently serve the Scotland electoral region – after one stood down in January 2019:

Seat 1
Ian Hudghton
Scottish National Party
8 Old Glamis Road, Dundee DD3 8HP

Seat 2
David Martin
Labour Party
Midlothian Innovation Centre, Pentlandfield, Roslin, Midlothian EH25 9RE

Seat 3
Baroness Nosheena Mobarik CBE
Conservative Party
Scottish Conservative Party, 67 Northumberland Street, Edinburgh EH3 6JG

Seat 4
Alyn Smith
Scottish National Party
Gordon Lamb House, 3 Jackson's Entry, Edinburgh EH8 8PJ

Seat 5
David Coburn
The Brexit Party
Suite B Laws Close, High Street, Kirkcaldy, Fife KY1 1JL

Notice of election