Pressured Area Status in South Ayrshire

The Scottish Government granted permission to South Ayrshire Council to renew Pressured Area Status in 29 areas for 5 years until 24th June 2016.

On 15th March 2016 South Ayrshire Council approved the extension of Pressured Area Status from 24th June 2016 until 1st August 2016 when the Right to Buy ends for all social housing tenants in Scotland.

The 29 letting neighbourhoods designated as ‘pressured’ are listed below:

  • Ayr North
  • Annpit
  • Craigie
  • Heathfield
  • Newton Green
  • Woodfield
  • Ayr South
  • Ayr Rural
  • Central
  • Belmont Old
  • Belmont South
  • Forehill/Glencairn/Holmston
  • Kincaidston
  • Rural Areas
  • Annbank
  • Crosshill
  • Dunure
  • Kirkmichael
  • Maidens
  • Barr
  • Barrhill
  • Colmonell
  • Pinmore
  • Prestwick
  • Eastfield
  • East Road
  • Glenburn
  • Marchburn
  • Monkton
  • Moorfield
  • Mossbank
  • Prestwick Central
  • Prestwick Toll

This means the Right to Buy (RTB) will be suspended in these areas for tenants whose tenancy started on or after the 30 September 2002, when the Scottish Executive introduced modernised RTB terms.

The Council wishes to provide as many affordable homes as possible for rent. Continuing to suspend the Right to Buy in designated areas is one way of preventing a reduction in the number of affordable homes we have available.

We have put together some frequently asked questions which gives more information about pressured area status.

If you wish to discuss pressured area status, or would like more information please contact your local area office.