Who's standing for election to become a Councillor?


  • Peter John Convery, Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Craig MacKay, Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Annie McIndoe, Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Boyd Murdoch, Scottish Green Party
  • Bob Pollock, Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Philip Saxton, Scottish Labour Party
  • Ian Cochrane, Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Hugh Hunter, Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Alasdair John Malcolm, Independent
  • Helen Moonie, Scottish Labour Party
  • Margaret Toner, Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • John Wallace, Scottish National Party (SNP)

  • Laura Brennan-Whitefield, Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Douglas Campbell, Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Ian Cavana, Scottish Labour Party
  • Ian Davis, Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Brenda Knox, Scottish Labour Party
  • Jamie McGeechan, Independent
  • Andrew Bryden, Independent
  • Chris Cullen, Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Mary Kilpatrick, Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Brian McGinley, Scottish Labour Party
  • Ian McPherson, Scottish National Party (SNP)

  • Chic Brodie, Independent
  • Siobhian Brown, Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Allan Dorans, Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Martin Dowey, Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Lee Lyons, Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Liz Martin, Scottish Labour Party
  • Derek McCabe, Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Andy Campbell, Scottish Labour Party
  • Julie Dettbarn, Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Scott McFarlane, Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Arthur Spurling, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

  • Iain Campbell, Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Brian Connolly, Independent
  • Catriona Deliveli, Scottish Labour Party
  • William Grant, Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Gordon McFadzean, Independent
  • Alec Clark, Independent
  • Karen Clark-McCartney, Independent
  • Ian Fitzsimmons, Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Peter Henderson, Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Owen Martin, Scottish Labour Party
  • Gavin Scott, Independent

The job of a Councillor is a challenging but very rewarding one and most people become a Councillor for that very simple reason – they want to help improve lives in their local communities and make a difference.

A Councillor’s main responsibility is to represent their constituents to the best of their abilities. It will also be the responsibility of the 28 Councillors elected within South Ayrshire to make the key decisions that determine what services are provided by the Council, how services are provided and how the Council’s budget is spent.

These are decisions that affect the daily lives of all our residents so it takes a lot of hard work and commitment; however, the rewards and the way Councillors can make a difference make it all worthwhile.

Anyone elected to serve as a Councillor will receive a salary to reflect the hours of work required as well as expenses to cover travel for official business.

The Improvement Service has also developed a dedicated website, www.localcouncillor.scot, which will help candidates make a decision on whether they would like to stand. It highlights the important role Councillors have in improving the lives of people in their area and supports candidates to be better informed about what is expected of them should they be elected.

Useful documents