2018 Review of UK Parliament constituencies in Scotland

The Boundary Commission for Scotland has published its initial proposals for a new map of UK Parliamentary constituencies in Scotland.

Part of its 2018 review, this marks the start of a public consultation on the proposals that runs until Wednesday 11 January 2017.

The review follows the UK Parliament decision to reduce the number of constituencies from 650 to 600. In Scotland this means that 59 constituencies will be reduced to 53.

Due to the reduction in the number of constituencies, and the requirements for each constituency to have a number of electors within set limits, changes to constituencies are required. These changes are now out for consultation.

Two of the constituencies (Na h-Eileanan an lar (the Western Isles) and Orkney and Shetland) are defined in the legislation and will not be subject to change.

Each of the remaining 51 constituencies must:

  • Not exceed the maximum permitted area of 13,000 square kilometres; and
  • Be within five per cent of the UK electoral quota of 74,769.2 (i.e. to have between 71,031 and 78,507 electors), except where a constituency is larger than 12,000 square kilometres when it may have fewer than 71,031 electors.

The proposed constituencies include seven constituencies wholly within the East Ayrshire, East Renfrewshire, Inverclyde, North Ayrshire, Renfrewshire and South Ayrshire council areas.

Further information on the proposals and details of how to submit views can be found on the Commission's interactive portal at www.bcs2018.org.uk. A number of public events will also be held around the country, including one in Ayr on 1 December.

Following the review, the Boundary Commission for Scotland will make recommendations to the Secretary of State for Scotland in September 2018.