Electoral ward 4 - Ayr East

Ayr East by-election, 17 September 2015

Voters in South Ayrshire Council's Ayr East ward have elected John Wallace, Scottish National Party (SNP) to serve as one of their Councillors, following the local government by-election on Thursday 17 September 2015.

The by-election was called following the resignation of Corri Wilson, who was elected as MP for Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock in the UK General Election earlier this year.

The new Councillor was elected using the 'Single Transferable Vote' – or STV – voting system, and was elected at stage 4 of the count, after achieving the highest number of votes when only two candidates remained. John Wallace received a total of 1,775 votes. Dan McCroskrie of the Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party received a total of 1,740 votes.

Turnout for the Ayr East by-election was 34.4%, with 4,006 votes cast out of an electorate of 11,638.