Accessibility Skip to main content

South Ayrshire Youth Forum Award winners 2014

 05 December 2014  |  

The future looks bright! South Ayrshire Youth Forum Award winners 2014!

The future looks bright! South Ayrshire Youth Forum Award winners 2014!

Young people from across South Ayrshire have been honoured at the South Ayrshire Youth Forum (SAYF) Awards 2014, which recognise, celebrate and reward their achievements.

Earlier this year people were asked to nominate a young person in South Ayrshire who has left a lasting impression on them, be it a young carer, a youth volunteer, a person with outstanding artistic talent or someone who has overcome adversity. 

This year a record 224 nominations for the accolades were made in 14 different categories and the presentation ceremony took place in Troon Concert Hall.

Anyone aged between 14 and 25 years of age and living in South Ayrshire was eligible for nomination by the public, their peers, members of the their community and all nominations were assessed by a panel of experienced youth workers, who chose the 2014 winners.

Opening the event, South Ayrshire Council's Councillor Margaret Toner, Portfolio Holder for Lifelong Learning said: "The South Ayrshire Youth Forum Awards are in their fifth year and celebrate young people who go the extra mile to make a difference to others and their communities.

"To have been selected from a record number of nominees and to make it as finalists in each category is truly remarkable and make no mistake, these really are significant achievements.

"These days, it's far too easy to think society will run itself quite nicely until – at some distant point in the future – the younger generation will take over the reins.

"But the truth is that we need the energy, brains, imagination and talent of our young people to help us make things better for the future – and we need this right now.

"When I hear the phrase: 'young people are the future' I always disagree – young people are the present – which is why the Youth Forum is such an excellent platform for making sure your voices are heard – and long may this continue."

Councillor Toner then handed over to compere Mason Rowan, a Member of the Scottish Youth Parliament, who introduced category sponsors to announce winners. These were:

Entertainment and Arts

 Domain Art group

Community Involvement

 William McEwan


 Blair Stobie + Stephanie Currie

Unsung Hero

 Connor Hull


 Prestwick Academy Eco group


 Catriona Hill

Learning and Development

 Marisha Wood

Personal Achievement in Sport

 Kirstin Oakley

Helping the Community in Sport

 Sam Donnelly + Robbie Henderson


 South Ayrshire MSYP's


 Megan Short

Paid Staff Award

 Lesley Hannah

Volunteer Staff Award

 Kieran Wardrop

SAYF Member

 Kai Green


Young Star of the Year

 Rachel Whiteman

A special Lifetime Achievement Award was also given to Laura Kerr, the Councils' former Youth Strategy Officer, who worked closely with the Youth Forum.

Closing the awards ceremony, Claire Monaghan, South Ayrshire Council's Head of Communities led a vote of thanks for organisers and said: "I was moved and humbled, amused and overjoyed to see just how lucky South Ayrshire is to have so many fantastic young people.

"As Councillor Toner has rightly said, our youth are our present and our future – and it's clear from these awards that the future looks very bright indeed!"

To find out more about the South Ayrshire Youth Forum log on to .


Weekly newsletter

Follow us