Accessibility Skip to main content

Nominations open for Ayr East by-election

 07 August 2015  |  

Nominations are now open for anyone interested in standing for election in South Ayrshire Council Ward 4 – Ayr East on Thursday 17 September, following the resignation of former Councillor Corri Wilson. 

All prospective Councillors must submit a nomination form in order to become a candidate and be included on the ballot paper. Candidates can be affiliated to a particular political party or stand as an independent, as long as they meet the general criteria to become a Councillor.

Further information and nomination packs are available here. The deadline for nominations is 4pm on Monday 17 August.

All registered, eligible voters in the Ayr East ward will be entitled to vote on 17 September and there are three ways to vote in the by-election:

  • In person, at your designated polling place from 7am to 10pm – five venues will be used as polling places for the Ayr East by-election:
    • Forehill Library, Mount Oliphant Crescent, Ayr, KA7 3EN
    • Yeomanry House T A Centre, Chalmers Road, Ayr, KA7 2JQ
    • Church of Jesus Christ of LDS Hall, Mossgiel Road, Ayr KA7 1DB
    • St Paul's RC Church Hall, Peggieshill Road, Ayr, KA7 3RF
    • Kincaidston Community Pavilion, Stonecrop Place, Ayr KA7 3XA
  • By post – as long as you are registered to vote. The deadline for new applications to vote by post is 5pm on Wednesday 2 September. You must be registered under individual electoral registration to be eligible for a postal vote.
  • By proxy – where you trust someone else to cast your vote on your behalf. You and your proxy must be registered to vote to do this. The deadline for new applications to vote by proxy is 5pm on Wednesday 9 September. You, and your proxy, must be registered under individual electoral registration to be eligible for a proxy vote.

Further information on the by-election is available here. If you can't find the information you're looking for, you can also call the election office on 01292 612222 or email

Enquiries about voter registration should be directed to the Electoral Registration Officer on 01292 612221. Information is also available online at

Weekly newsletter

Follow us