Accessibility Skip to main content

New polling places for UK parliamentary election

 09 March 2015  |  

Voters in two areas of South Ayrshire will be casting their votes in new locations for the UK parliamentary election on Thursday 7 May 2015. 

South Ayrshire Council, is making the changes following a review of polling places: 

  • Holy Trinity Church Hall, Ayr will be used in place of County Buildings, Ayr.
  • Monkton Primary School, Monkton will be used in place of Carvick Webster Hall, Monkton. 

Eileen Howat, Returning Officer said: "The UK parliamentary election gives everyone who is registered to vote the opportunity to take part in the democratic process and help choose the Members of Parliament who will represent them at Westminster.  

"We're making changes to two polling station locations to improve the voting experience with better parking and accessibility for everyone who wishes to take part in the election process. We want as many eligible people as possible to use their vote and have their say in the election." 

To be eligible to register to vote you must be: 18 years of age or over on the day of the election; a British citizen, a qualifying Commonwealth citizen or a citizen of the Republic of Ireland and not subject to any legal incapacity to vote. 

Previously, one person in every household was responsible for registering everyone else who lives at that address. Under individual electoral registration, each person is now required to register to vote individually, rather than by household.

Individual voters need to provide 'identifying information', such as date of birth and national insurance number, when applying to register and applications will need to be verified before a person is added to the register. Anyone unable to supply this information can provide an alternative form of evidence of their identity. 

There are two parliamentary constituencies that include South Ayrshire: 

  • Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock – covers Ayr, Coylton, Cumnock, Maybole, Girvan and surrounding areas.
  • Central Ayrshire Constituency – covers Prestwick, Troon, Annbank, Tarbolton, Symington and Dundonald and surrounding areas.

 To be eligible to vote in the UK parliamentary election, voters must be registered by following deadlines: 

  • Last day for registering to vote − Monday 20 April 2015
  • Last day for applying for a postal vote − Tuesday 21 April 2015 (you must be registered under individual electoral registration to apply) 
  • Last day for changing an existing postal vote − Tuesday 21 April 2015 (5pm)
  • Last day for proxy application − Tuesday 28 April 2015 (5pm) 

If you would like information on registering your vote, standing as a candidate, voting in the election, and how the result will be announced go to

If you can't find the information you're looking for, you can visit the Electoral Commission website at, call our contact centre on 0300 123 0900 or email us at



Weekly newsletter

Follow us