Accessibility Skip to main content

If you are 12 to 25 years old have your say

 23 February 2015  |  

South Ayrshire candidates in the Scottish Youth Parliament elections are calling on their peers to stand up and be counted and use their vote in the Scottish Youth Parliament elections. 

The Scottish Youth Parliament represents Scotland's young people aged up to 25 years and aims to ensure young people's voices are heard on the issues that matter and to involve them in democratic decision-making processes. 

Nine young people are standing in South Ayrshire to represent their peers in the two South Ayrshire constituencies – Ayr (with two Members of the Scottish Youth Parliament (MSYPs)) and Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley (with one South Ayrshire MSYP as the constituency is shared with East Ayrshire). 

South Ayrshire Provost Helen Moonie said: "The candidates in the Scottish Youth Parliament elections are approaching their campaigns with great enthusiasm and enjoying the experience. 

"I would encourage all young people from 12 to 25 years to go online when the elections go live and influence who represents you in the Scottish Youth Parliament." 

From 2 March to 12 March 2015 young people can vote all they need is their Young Scot card and to go online at at school, college or from the comfort of their own home, whatever suits them. If you need a Young Scot number to vote go to or call 01292 612788.

The candidates for the 2015 Scottish Youth Parliament elections are: 

Ayr constituency

Kai Green, aged 16  

Kirsty McCahill, aged 16

Scott McElvanney, aged 17

Mark Thorburn, aged 16


Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley Constituency

Owain Beavn, aged 16

Lewis Gray, aged 16 

Kate Fleming, aged 18

Codie Hodge, aged 15

Brody Wright, aged 15  


The results of the election will be announced on Friday 13 March 2015. 

To find out more about the candidates and their manifestos, and for details of how to vote, visit or call 01292 616421.

Weekly newsletter

Follow us