Accessibility Skip to main content

Celebrating local success - South Ayrshire sports awards

 16 November 2015  |  

The winners celebrate their success

The winners celebrate their success

People of all ages from across South Ayrshire have been recognised at the annual South Ayrshire Sports Awards. 17 awards were handed out at the ceremony which highlights the sporting achievements of athletes, coaches, volunteers as well as officials.

The prestigious Sports Team of the Year award went to South Ayrshire Gymnastics Club. Linda Kelly, Development Coach at the club said: "South Ayrshire Gymnastics Club is delighted to be named winners in the Sports Team of the Year category. All our gymnasts have worked so hard over the past year.

Alan Todd from Ayr Lawn Tennis club picked up the Local Services to Sport award and feels his efforts are really paying off. Alan said: "it's great to see so many accomplished youngsters in South Ayrshire.'

Byron Stericker from Ayrshire Swim Team was the winner of Performance Coach of the Year. He said: "I was delighted to receive the award which added to a very successful season for me and South Ayrshire Swim Team and the recognition from the Sports Council is inspiring."

The theme for this year's awards was 'Celebrating Local Success' and clubs highlighted their success in a presentation slide show.

Chris Carlyle, Chairman South Ayrshire Sports Council said: "I would like congratulate all of this year's winners, once again the standard was extremely high and the judging was not easy. I would like to thank everyone that has been involved in organising this ceremony which celebrates the successes of our sports stars."

South Ayrshire Provost Helen Moonie said: "These awards acknowledge our sporting successes but also highlight the wealth of experience we have in South Ayrshire which helps local sportsmen and women achieve their sporting ambitions. Well done to the winners and everyone that was up for an award"

South Ayrshire Sports Council Sports Awards 2015 – Winners

Sports Personality of the Year
Rachel Hunter - Ayr Seaforth Athletics Club

Junior Sports Personality (16 years & under)
Erin Robertson – South Ayrshire Swim Team

Sports Team of the Year
12 year + Team – South Ayrshire Gymnastics Club

Junior Sports Team (16 years & under)
South Ayrshire TTC Juniors

Coach of the Year
Alan Nisbet - Ayr Basketball Club

Sports Volunteer of the Year
Janey McCreath - South Ayrshire Swim Team

Young Achiever of the Year
Owen Gibbons – Ayr Basketball Club

Provost's Trophy – Club of the Year
Glenburn Miners Welfare Football Club

Local Service to Sport
Alan Todd – Ayr Lawn Tennis Club

South Ayrshire Coaching, Officiating & Volunteering Awards 2015 - Winners

Young Person's Coach of the Year
Jim Dewar – South Ayrshire Table Tennis Club

Community Coach of the Year
Robert Carter - Burakudo Shotokan Karate Club

Development Coach of the Year
Laura Nisbet - Ayr Basketball Club

Performance Coach of the Year
Byron Stericker – South Ayrshire Swim Team     

Young Coach of the Year
Kirstin Kirkland- South Ayrshire Gymnastics Club 

Technical Official of the year
Ricky Taylor- Ayr Seaforth Athletics Club   

Volunteer of the Year (over 25yrs)
Andrew Clegg –Badminton (Active Schools) 

Young Volunteer of the Year (U.25 yrs)
Alison Leckie – Active Schools   

Weekly newsletter

Follow us