Accessibility Skip to main content

Air quality management

The National Air Quality Strategy outlines a national framework for reducing hazards to health from air pollution in the UK. It requires local authorities to review and assess local air quality against a set of standards and objectives for the control and reduction of the seven main health threatening pollutants - benzene, 1.3 butadiene, carbon monoxide, lead, nitrogen dioxide, particulate matter (PM10) and sulphur dioxide. The objectives for each of these pollutants must be achieved between the years 2003 and 2005.

In South Ayrshire, Environmental Health monitor the pollutants in 22 different locations and submit detailed reports on the various stages of the review process both to SEPA and the Scottish Government.


Thank you for your feedback!

We're sorry about that. Why wasn't it helpful?
No response is given so please do not include contact information.

Last updated: 21 July 2016

Weekly newsletter

Follow us